Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • Twoism (1995)
    1. Sixtyniner
    2. Oirectine
    3. Iced Cooly
    4. Basefree
    5. Twoism
    6. Seeya Later
    7. Melissa Juice
    8. Smokes Quantity

    Twoism is an EP released by Boards of Canada on their own Music70 record label in 1995. It was a self-financed cassette and record distributed privately. Major public releases would not happen until 1996's Hi Scores EP on Skam Records. This album was, however, the work which got them noticed by Skam Records. In 2002, this EP was reissued on vinyl and CD by Warp Records. There are differences between "Sixtyniner" on this EP and other releases. (Boards of Canada have often re-released early songs on later, more popular releases, sometimes with changes.) Before Twoism was re-pressed years later, it was a highly sought-after item, being pressed only about 100 times. It would often be exchanged from one person to the next for around £800 (US$1500) Twoism is the only widely-available Boards of Canada release with early third member Chris Horne, who was credited (as Chris H.) on the original release. However, his name was omitted on the 2002 Warp re-released version at his own request. According to credits from Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency he only co-wrote "Melissa Juice". The channels are reversed on the CD reissue compared to the original vinyl EP. This can also be noted on the tracks "Seeya Later" and "Smokes Quantity", which have the channels reversed compared to their appearances on Hi Scores and Music Has the Right to Children respectively. "Smokes Quantity" includes the hidden track "1986 Summer Fire" at the end. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Music Has the Right to Children (1998)
    1. Wildlife Analysis
    2. An Eagle in Your Mind
    3. The Color of the Fire
    4. Telephasic Workshop
    5. Triangles & Rhombuses
    6. Sixtyten
    7. Turquoise Hexagon Sun
    8. Kaini Industries
    9. Bocuma
    10. Roygbiv
    11. Rue the Whirl
    12. Aquarius
    13. Olson
    14. Pete Standing Alone
    15. Smokes Quantity
    16. Open the Light
    17. One Very Important Thought

    Music Has the Right to Children is the first studio release by Boards of Canada and their first with Warp Records, who would be home to their later releases. The album was met with critical acclaim, being hailed as a modern classic and labelled as a “thing of wonder” - “the aural equivalent of old Super 8 movies.” Marcus Eoin, in an interview done coinciding the albums release says “a lot of it is trying to capture a nostalgic feeling buried somewhere in our minds. We are nostalgic people trying to get back moments from our pasts.” He goes on to argue that “music for commercials, documentary soundtracks and children's TV themes: the spaces in between the music you're supposed to listen to. That's where our interest lies. These melodies might only last a second at the end of a TV programme but they are quietly more important to the public psyche than most pop music.” Read more on Last.fm.

  • In a Beautiful Place Out in the Country (2000)
  • In a Beautiful Place out in the Country is an EP by Boards of Canada. Encompassing four tracks culled from the same recording sessions from which Boards of Canada would later produce Geogaddi, the EP tends to favor a darker, more pastoral, and even elegiac atmosphere than its predecessor Music Has the Right to Children. Although musically the EP is no great stylistic departure for the group, In a Beautiful Place out in the Country does represent a significant change in tone and subject matter. Of particular note are the references in the music and album art reflecting an interest by the brothers in the history of David Koresh’s millennialist sect, the Branch Davidians. The picture, found directly beneath the disc on the CD release of the EP, is thought by some to have been cropped from a picture of David Koresh. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Geogaddi (2002)
    1. Ready Lets Go
    2. Music Is Math
    3. Beware the Friendly Stranger
    4. Gyroscope
    5. Dandelion
    6. Sunshine Recorder
    7. In the Annexe
    8. Julie and Candy
    9. The Smallest Weird Number
    10. 1969
    11. Energy Warning
    12. The Beach at Redpoint
    13. Opening the Mouth
    14. Alpha and Omega
    15. I Saw Drones
    16. The Devil Is in the Details
    17. A Is to B as B Is to C
    18. Over the Horizon Radar
    19. Dawn Chorus
    20. Diving Station
    21. You Could Feel the Sky
    22. Corsair
    23. Magic Window

    Geogaddi is the second album released by Boards of Canada, presenting a darker sound than its predecessor filled with references to numerology, Branch Davidianism and the Bible. Backmasking was also used in the album, leading to accusations of subliminal messaging. The album was well received as a “very accomplished album packed with great music,” cementing their status as “an individual voice in electronic music.” Michael Sandison has described the album as "a record for some sort of trial-by-fire, a claustrophobic, twisting journey that takes you into some pretty dark experiences before you reach the open air again. It has a kind of narrative." Read more on Last.fm.

  • The Campfire Headphase (2005)
    1. Into the Rainbow Vein
    2. Chromakey Dreamcoat
    3. Satellite Anthem Icarus
    4. Peacock Tail
    5. Dayvan Cowboy
    6. A Moment of Clarity
    7. '84 Pontiac Dream
    8. Sherbet Head
    9. Oscar See Through Red Eye
    10. Ataronchronon
    11. Hey Saturday Sun
    12. Constants Are Changing
    13. Slow This Bird Down
    14. Tears From the Compound Eye
    15. Farewell Fire

    The Campfire Headphase is the third full-length album by Boards of Canada, the release makes use of lo-fi acoustics and reduces the focus on synthesization featured on previous records – “a deliberate thing” in response to “people saying that we're a formulaic band that you could kind of describe in a couple of sentences.” Michael Sandison, one of the two member of the band says about the album: “we were picturing this character losing his mind at the campfire and compressing weeks of events into a few hours, in that time-stretching way that acid fucks with your perception.” Read more on Last.fm.

  • Trans Canada Highway (2006)
    1. Dayvan Cowboy
    2. Left Side Drive
    3. Heard From Telegraph Lines
    4. Skyliner
    5. Under the Coke Sign
    6. Dayvan Cowboy (Odd Nosdam Remix)

  • Tomorrow's Harvest (2013)
    1. Gemini
    2. Reach for the Dead
    3. White Cyclosa
    4. Jacquard Causeway
    5. Telepath
    6. Cold Earth
    7. Transmisiones Ferox
    8. Sick Times
    9. Collapse
    10. Palace Posy
    11. Split Your Infinities
    12. Uritual
    13. Nothing Is Real
    14. Sundown
    15. New Seeds
    16. Come to Dust
    17. Semena Mertvykh

    Tomorrow's Harvest is the fourth studio album from the Scottish electronic music duo Boards of Canada. The album was released on 5 June 2013 in Japan, 10 June 2013 in Europe and 11 June in North America, via Warp Records worldwide. Read more on Last.fm.