Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • Moon Pix (1998)
    1. American Flag
    2. He Turns Down
    3. No Sense
    4. Say
    5. Metal Heart
    6. Back of Your Head
    7. Moonshiner
    8. You May Know Him
    9. Colors and the Kids
    10. Cross Bones Style
    11. Peking Saint

    Moon Pix is the fourth album by American singer-songwriter Cat Power (a.k.a. Chan Marshall). It was released in September 1998 on Matador Records. Prior to recording Moon Pix, Marshall had planned to retire from the music business, relocating to Portland, Oregon and Prosperity, South Carolina; however, after experiencing a hallucinatory nightmare while staying in a rural farmhouse, Marshall wrote the bulk of Moon Pix in a single night. In January 1998, Marshall traveled to Melbourne, Australia, to record the album with Mick Turner and Jim White, of the Australian instrumental band Dirty Three, on guitar and drums, respectively. Read more on Last.fm.

  • The Covers Record (2000)
    1. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
    2. Kingsport Town
    3. Troubled Waters
    4. Naked If I Want To
    5. Sweedeedee
    6. In This Hole
    7. I Found a Reason
    8. Wild Is the Wind
    9. Red Apples
    10. Paths of Victory
    11. Salty Dog
    12. Sea of Love

    The Covers Record is the fifth album by American singer/songwriter Chan Marshall, a.k.a. Cat Power. The album consists almost entirely of cover songs. It was released in 2000 on Matador Records. In 2005 the album was performed live in its entirety as part of the All Tomorrow's Parties-curated Don't Look Back series. track 3 should be: Troubled Waters Read more on Last.fm.

  • You Are Free (2003)
    1. I Don't Blame You [explicit]
    2. Free
    3. Good Woman
    4. Speak for Me
    5. Werewolf
    6. Fool
    7. He War
    8. Shaking Paper
    9. Babydoll
    10. Maybe Not
    11. Names
    12. Half of You
    13. Keep on Runnin' (Crawlin' Black Spider)
    14. Evolution

  • What Would the Community Think (2003)
    1. In This Hole
    2. Good Clean Fun
    3. What Would the Community Think
    4. Nude as the News
    5. They Tell Me
    6. Taking People
    7. The Fate of the Human Carbine
    8. King Rides By
    9. Bathysphere
    10. Water & Air
    11. Enough
    12. The Coat Is Always On

    What Would the Community Think is the third album by American singer-songwriter Chan Marshall, also known as Cat Power. It was released in 1996 on Matador Records, and was produced by Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley. The album has been noted for its array of musical styles, ranging from alternative rock to folk and blues. Though not a commercial hit, the album received unanimous critical acclaim and has been named as one of Cat Power's "masterpieces". History What Would The Community Think marked Cat Power's third studio release, and has been noted for its blend of blues, alternative rock, and country tracks, as well as for its largely melancholy lyrical subject matter. The album's lead single, "Nude as the News" was Cat Power's first song to receive an official music video in 1997, directed by Brett Vapnek. In retrospect, Marshall has divulged that the ambiguous lyrics to the song were written about an abortion she had in 1992, and the names "Jackson" and "Jesse" in the song are references to Patti Smith's two children. The cover artwork for the album was created by Chan Marshall out of a postcard: "I just needed a cover and I had this postcard that I've had for a long time. It's this woman from the '70s in New York and they did this collage of cigarette ads and she whited out the eyes and instead of a cigarette she had a whistle. It's no big deal, I just cut out the center of her face and put mine on top. It made it look more real." Read more on Last.fm.

  • The Greatest (2006)
    1. The Greatest
    2. Living Proof
    3. Lived in Bars
    4. Could We
    5. Empty Shell
    6. Willie
    7. Where Is My Love
    8. The Moon
    9. Islands
    10. After It All
    11. Hate
    12. Love & Communication

    The Greatest is the seventh studio album by indie rock artist Chan Marshall, a.k.a Cat Power; released in January 20, 2006 on Matador Records. It is her first album to feature no cover songs. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Could We (2006)
  • Dark End of the Street (2008)
    1. Dark End of the Street
    2. Fortunate Son
    3. Ye Auld Triangle
    4. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
    5. Who Knows Where the Time Goes
    6. It Ain't Fair

    Dark End of the Street is an EP album by american singer/songwriter Chan Marshall, also known as Cat Power. It was released on December 9, 2008 on Matador . Dark End of the Street was released both digitally and on a limited edition double 10". It contains six songs originally by The Pogues, Brendan Behan, James Carr, Sandy Denny, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Otis Redding and Aretha Franklin which were recorded during Cat Power's Jukebox sessions. Among the six are four previously unpublished tracks. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Jukebox (2008)
    1. New York
    2. Ramblin' (Wo)man
    3. Metal Heart
    4. Silver Stallion
    5. Aretha, Sing One for Me
    6. Lost Someone
    7. Lord, Help the Poor & Needy
    8. I Believe in You
    9. Song to Bobby
    10. Don't Explain
    11. Woman Left Lonely
    12. Blue
    13. I Feel
    14. Naked If I Want To
    15. Breathless
    16. Angelitos Negros
    17. She's Got You

    Jukebox is the eighth album by American singer/songwriter Chan Marshall, also known by her stage name, Cat Power. It was released on January 22, 2008 on Matador. The album is comprised almost entirely of cover songs, save for "Song To Bobby" and "Metal Heart" (previously recorded and released in 1998). This is Marshall's second record of cover songs; her first, The Covers Record, was released in 2000. A limited-edition, silver foil deluxe package, was also released containing a bonus disc with five extra songs: 1. I Feel (Hot Boy$) 2. Naked, If I Want To (Moby Grape) 3. Breathless (Nick Cave) 4. Angelitos Negros (Roberta Flack) 5. She's Got You (Patsy Cline) --- Released: January 22, 2008 Length: 38:40 Total: 12 tracks Read more on Last.fm.

  • Sun (2012)
    1. Cherokee
    2. Sun
    3. Ruin
    4. 3,6,9
    5. Always on My Own
    6. Real Life
    7. Human Being
    8. Manhattan
    9. Silent Machine
    10. Nothin But Time
    11. Peace and Love
    12. Fire
    13. Back in the Days
    14. King Rides By

    Sun is the ninth studio album by American musician Cat Power. Her first album of all-original material since 2006's The Greatest, it was released on September 3, 2012, in the United Kingdom and in the United States on September 4, 2012, via Matador. The album was issued in a variety of formats, including a limited edition deluxe LP containing a 7" vinyl of bonus tracks. The album's lead single, Ruin, was released for free download at Matador Record's store on June 20, 2012. A music video for album opener Cherokee, directed by Marshall, has recently been released, while an ambient remix of the song by Nicolas Jaar is available to download from Cat Power's official website. The song was premièred on NPR's All Songs Considered on June 26, whose host Bob Boilen described the album as " [going in] yet another direction. A lot more drive, a lot more electronics, drum machines, synths—it's very bold." On April 10, 2013, Cat Power performed the previously unreleased track Bully on the premier episode of the forty-second series of Later... with Jools Holland. Immediately following the broadcast, a new version of the album containing Bully as a bonus track was made available for download through iTunes. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Covers (2022)
    1. Bad Religion
    2. Unhate
    3. Pa Pa Power
    4. White Mustang
    5. A Pair Of Brown Eyes
    6. Against the Wind
    7. Endless Sea
    8. These Days
    9. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
    10. I Had a Dream Joe
    11. Here Comes A Regular
    12. I'll Be Seeing You