Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Mining For Gold
  2. Misguided Angel
  3. Blue Moon Revisited (Song For Elvis)
  4. I Don't Get It
  5. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  6. To Love Is To Bury
  7. 200 More Miles
  8. Dreaming My Dreams With You
  9. Working On A Building
  10. Sweet Jane
  11. Postcard Blues
  12. Walking After Midnight

Released: 1988

The Trinity Session is the second album by alternative rock band Cowboy Junkies, released in 1988. The music was recorded inside Toronto's Church of the Holy Trinity on November 27, 1987, with the band circled around a single microphone. The album includes a mixture of original material by the band and covers of classic folk, rock and country songs. Notable among the songs is the band's most famous single, a cover of the Velvet Underground's "Sweet Jane", based on the version found on 1969: The Velvet Underground Live rather than the later studio version from Loaded. Also included is "Blue Moon Revisited (Song for Elvis)", which is both a cover and an original, combining a new song by the band with the pop standard "Blue Moon". The album was released in early 1988 by Latent Recordings in Canada, and re-released worldwide later in the year on RCA Records. "Working on a Building" and "Blue Moon Revisited (Song for Elvis)" did not appear on the Latent Records release. "Blue Moon Revisited" was originally released on It Came from Canada, Vol. 4, a compilation of Canadian independent bands. In 2007, the album was performed live in its entirety as part of the All Tomorrow's Parties' Don't Look Back series. Also that year, the band returned to the Church of the Holy Trinity to record a new version of the Trinity Session with guest musicians Natalie Merchant, Vic Chesnutt and Ryan Adams. This new set of recordings was released as Trinity Revisited to commemorate the 20th anniversary of The Trinity Session. Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-28 21:34:18