Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Needle in the Hay
  2. Christian Brothers
  3. Clementine
  4. Southern Belle
  5. Single File
  6. Coming Up Roses
  7. Satellite
  8. Alphabet Town
  9. St. Ides Heaven
  10. Good to Go
  11. The White Lady Loves You More
  12. The Biggest Lie

Released: 1995

Elliott Smith is the second album recorded by American singer-songwriter Elliott Smith. It was released by Kill Rock Stars on 21 July 1995 in CD and vinyl LP. It was Smith's first full-length release on the label. The album is mostly acoustic, in contrast to Smith's later works which were often more instrumentally layered. Thematically, Smith said that he "personally can't get more dark" than his self-titled album. Musical style The album is of a similar musical style to Roman Candle and Either/Or in its minimalist, acoustic sound. Smith mostly appears alone on his acoustic guitar, although he is occasionally backed up by the odd musical instrument, such as a harmonica and drums. The lyrics are arguably Smith's darkest and most cutting, dealing with subjects like substance abuse (St. Ides Heaven, Needle in the Hay) and loss (Good to Go), although the album does also have a comforting, gentler sound. Smith's gentle fingerpicking on the album has been noted by many critics, and the album has been described as a fusion of "the Beatles' pop sense with Neil Young's sense of doom". Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-28 09:29:03