Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • Horn Of Plenty (2004)
    1. Deep Sea Diver
    2. Don't Ask
    3. Alligator
    4. Campfire
    5. Shift
    6. Disappearing Act
    7. Fix It
    8. Merge
    9. A Good Place
    10. Showcase
    11. La Duchess Anne
    12. Eavesdropping
    13. Service Bell
    14. This Song

  • Yellow House (2006)
    1. Easier
    2. Lullabye
    3. Knife
    4. Central and Remote
    5. Little Brother
    6. Plans
    7. Marla
    8. On a Neck, On a Spit
    9. Reprise
    10. Colorado

    Yellow House is the second studio album by American indie rock band Grizzly Bear, released on September 5, 2006 on Warp Records. Produced by bass guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Chris Taylor, the album's title refers to vocalist Ed Droste's mother's house where the majority of recording took place. The album is the first to feature both Taylor and vocalist and guitarist Daniel Rossen, and received critical acclaim upon its release; significantly increasing the band's exposure. An EP, Friend, was released the following year featuring material recorded mostly during the same sessions. Following the release of Horn of Plenty in 2004, Grizzly Bear expanded from being the solo moniker for vocalist Ed Droste into a full band, with the addition of Horn of Plenty collaborator Christopher Bear, bassist and multi-instrumentalist Chris Taylor, and guitarist and vocalist Daniel Rossen. Christopher Bear noted, "Getting together the band for the live show changed things quite a bit, in terms of dynamics and instrumentation used. The songs [on Horn of Plenty] were quite simple and open ended so it left a lot of room for interpretation, which was great because it allowed us to get a band sound happening and working on a very reactionary level." Read more on Last.fm.

  • Friend (2007)
    1. Alligator - Choir Version
    2. He Hit Me
    3. Little Brother (Electric)
    4. Shift (Alternate Version)
    5. Plans (Terrible vs. Nonhorse: Sounds Edit)
    6. Granny Diner
    7. Knife (cover version - original by Grizzly Bear)
    8. Plans - Cover Version - Original By Grizzly Bear
    9. Knife - Cover Version - Original By Grizzly Bear
    10. Deep Blue Sea (Daniel Rossen Home Recording)

    Friend is an EP by the Brooklyn-based band Grizzly Bear, their first release following the critically acclaimed Yellow House. It was released on November 5, 2007 on Warp Records. The EP has tracks recorded during sessions for the Yellow House album, as well as covers of their songs by Band of Horses, CSS, and Atlas Sound. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Veckatimest (2009)
    1. Southern Point
    2. Two Weeks
    3. All We Ask
    4. Fine for Now
    5. Cheerleader
    6. Dory
    7. Ready, Able
    8. About Face
    9. Hold Still
    10. While You Wait for the Others
    11. I Live With You
    12. Foreground

    Veckatimest is the third full-length studio album by American indie rock band Grizzly Bear, released on May 26, 2009 on Warp Records. The album is named after a small island in Dukes County, Massachusetts. Veckatimest debuted at #8 on the US Billboard 200, selling 33,000 copies in its first week of release. It has sold around 220,000 copies until September of 2012. The recording of Veckatimest began in the summer of 2008 at Allaire Studios in the Catskill Mountains of upstate New York. Regarding the writing process, Ed Droste states: Nico Muhly collaborated with Grizzly Bear on this album. In the interim they debuted four new songs: "Two Weeks", "While You Wait for the Others", "Fine for Now", and "Cheerleader". Read more on Last.fm.

  • Shields (2012)
    1. Sleeping Ute
    2. Speak in Rounds
    3. Adelma
    4. Yet Again
    5. The Hunt
    6. A Simple Answer
    7. What's Wrong?
    8. Gun-Shy
    9. Half Gate
    10. Sun in Your Eyes

    Shields is the fourth studio album by American indie rock band Grizzly Bear, released on September 18, 2012 on Warp Records. Written and recorded following a six-month hiatus from band activities, the album was produced by bassist and multi-instrumentalist Chris Taylor, and preceded by the singles, "Sleeping Ute" and "Yet Again". Shields has been described as the band's most collaborative album, with vocalist and guitarist Daniel Rossen noting, "The band's aim was to write and make music that is as collaborative as possible, so that we have a product that we all feel a sense of authorship over as a collective." The album received acclaim upon release. Shields reached a peak position of #17 on the UK Albums Chart and #7 on the Billboard 200. After extensive touring in support of the band's third studio album, Veckatimest (2009), Grizzly Bear undertook a six-month hiatus from band-related activities. Vocalist Ed Droste noted, "There was such a level of exhaustion that I really needed to pretend I wasn't in the band for a little bit. I needed to be back in my life with my friends and my spouse, and live a day-to-day existence that had nothing to do with music. That was really good for everybody."Vocalist and guitarist Daniel Rossen stated, "Those were strange times... I felt a little bit shell-shocked by the touring experience of Veckatimest and part of me was just wondering if there was some other version of a life that I could have that wasn't as heavily involved in the music industry." During the break, bass guitarist and producer Chris Taylor released a solo album, Dreams Come True (2011), under the pseudonym CANT, stating, "I can't just take a break. For whatever reason, I'm the kind of person who needs to constantly to work on stuff. When we finished touring, I didn't want to take some time off, I just wanted to go into the studio. But, I really didn't want to book myself in with a band and go record them, so I decided I'd try and make my own record." Daniel Rossen recorded and released a solo EP, Silent Hour/Golden Mile (2012), featuring tracks initially intended for Shields. Read more on Last.fm.