Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • Turn On the Bright Lights (2002)
    1. Untitled
    2. Obstacle 1
    3. NYC
    4. PDA
    5. Say Hello to the Angels
    6. Hands Away
    7. Obstacle 2
    8. Stella Was a Diver and She Was Always Down
    9. Roland
    10. The New
    11. Leif Erikson

    Turn On the Bright Lights is the debut album of New York City rock band Interpol. It was released in 2002 on Matador Records to a great deal of critical acclaim and sold exceptionally well for an indie release; it has sold 499,000 copies in the U.S. so far. It was also ranked highly on the yearly lists of many music critics, and has to date sold 86,000 in the UK despite only charting as high as #101. Musically, many have pointed out the similarities between Turn On the Bright Lights and the bands Joy Division and The Chameleons. "PDA", "NYC", "Obstacle 1" and "Say Hello to the Angels" were the singles from Turn On the Bright Lights, and a video was shot for each with the exception of "Say Hello to the Angels". "Leif Erikson" was named for Leif Ericson. The track "Untitled" also appeared in Season 9, episode 24 of the US Television show, Friends.

  • Antics (2004)
    1. Next Exit
    2. Evil
    3. NARC
    4. Take You on a Cruise
    5. Slow Hands
    6. Not Even Jail
    7. Public Pervert
    8. C'mere
    9. Length of Love
    10. A Time to Be So Small

    Antics is the second album by New York City-based band Interpol, released in 2004 selling 488,000 copies in the U.S. and over 100,000 in the UK. Although more confident than its predecessor, Turn on the Bright Lights, it largely repeats the same formula of sparse arrangement driven by bass throb and strong drums, with powerful, evocative lyrics sung in a resonant, somber voice by vocalist Paul Banks and intricate guitar lines, reminiscent of The Chameleons. Musically speaking, the general tone of this record is remarkably brighter than its darker predecessor. It made the top 10 list of several music critics for the year of 2004. Photography for the interior of the album was produced by Ami Barwell. The album was reissued in August 2005 in the United States with a bonus disc that contained four remixes by the band, a B-side, and the videos for all three singles. A poster was featured in the Without a Trace episode 911 of season 5. Track listing All tracks written by Interpol. 1. "Next Exit" – 3:20 2. "Evil" – 3:35 3. "Narc" – 4:07 4. "Take You on a Cruise" – 4:54 5. "Slow Hands" – 3:04 6. "Not Even Jail" – 5:46 7. "Public Pervert" – 4:40 8. "C'mere" – 3:11 9. "Length of Love" – 4:06 10. "A Time to Be So Small" – 4:50 Read more on Last.fm.