Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • American III: Solitary Man
    1. I Won't Back Down
    2. Solitary Man
    3. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
    4. One
    5. Nobody
    6. I See a Darkness
    7. The Mercy Seat
    8. Would You Lay With Me (In a Field of Stone)
    9. Field of Diamonds
    10. Before My Time
    11. Country Trash
    12. Mary of the Wild Moor
    13. I'm Leavin' Now
    14. Wayfaring Stranger

  • American IV: The Man Comes Around (2002)
    1. The Man Comes Around
    2. Hurt
    3. Give My Love to Rose
    4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
    5. I Hung My Head
    6. First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
    7. Personal Jesus
    8. In My Life
    9. Sam Hall
    10. Danny Boy
    11. Desperado
    12. I'm so Lonesome I Could Cry
    13. Tear Stained Letter
    14. Streets Of Laredo
    15. We'll Meet Again

    American IV: The Man Comes Around is the fourth album in the American series by Johnny Cash, released in 2002. The majority of songs are covers which Cash performs in his own spare style, with help from producer Rick Rubin. For instance, for the song "Personal Jesus", Rubin asked Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante to re-work an acoustic version of Martin Gore's song, which featured a simple acoustic riff that stripped down the song to a blues style. He receives backing vocal assistance from various artists, including Fiona Apple, Nick Cave, and Don Henley. American IV was the final Cash album released during his lifetime; though the Unearthed Box Set was compiled prior to his death, it was not released until two months later. It was also his first non-compilation album to go gold (selling over 500,000 copies) in thirty years. Additionally, the album won "Album of the Year" award at the 2003 CMA Awards. The video for "Hurt", a song written by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails in 1994, was nominated in seven categories at the 2003 MTV Video Music Awards and won the award for Best Cinematography. In February 2003, mere days before his 71st birthday, Cash won another Grammy Award for Best Country Male Vocal Performance for "Give My Love To Rose," a song Cash had originally recorded in the late 1950s. The music video for "Hurt" also won a Grammy for Best Short Form Video at the 2004 Awards. Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor admitted that he was initially "flattered" but worried that "the idea [of Cash covering "Hurt"] sounded a bit gimmicky," but when he heard the song and saw the video for the first time, Reznor said he was deeply moved and found Cash's cover beautiful and meaningful. Read more on Last.fm.

  • The Legend Of Johnny Cash (2008)
    1. Cry, Cry, Cry
    2. Hey Porter
    3. Folsom Prison Blues
    4. I Walk the Line - single version
    5. Get Rhythm
    6. Big River
    7. Guess Things Happen That Way - 1958 Single Version
    8. Ring of Fire
    9. Jackson
    10. A Boy Named Sue
    11. Sunday Morning Coming Down
    12. Man In Black - Single Version
    13. One Piece At A Time
    14. Highwayman
    15. The Wanderer
    16. Delia's Gone
    17. Rusty Cage
    18. I've Been Everywhere
    19. Give My Love to Rose
    20. The Man Comes Around (Early Take)
    21. Hurt

    The Legend of Johnny Cash is a single-disc compilation album of country music legend Johnny Cash's career. It is the first such album to contain material from Cash's American Recordings era in addition to songs from his time at Sun and Columbia. It was released on October 25, 2005 on the Island/American/Columbia/Legacy record labels and tied to the release of the Cash biopic Walk the Line. In the wake of that film's success its sales made the compilation an overwhelming success, selling over two million copies. Read more on Last.fm.