Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Baby's Arms
  2. Jesus Fever
  3. Puppet to the Man
  4. On Tour
  5. Society Is My Friend
  6. Runner Ups
  7. In My Time
  8. Peeping Tomboy
  9. Smoke Ring for My Halo
  10. Ghost Town
  11. (shell blues)

Released: 2011

Smoke Ring for My Halo is the fourth studio album by American indie rock musician Kurt Vile, released on March 8, 2011 on Matador Records. A deluxe edition was released in November 2011, including the EP, So Outta Reach (2011). The album was released to critical acclaim upon its release, with Mojo placing the album at #12 on its "Top 50 albums of 2011" list, while Uncut placed the album at number 14 and Pitchfork placed the album at number 16. The track "On Tour" is about Vile's 2010 tour with backing band The Violators, with Vile noting, "[It was the] first time the full band could come along. We had kind of a shitty rental van and it was the first time we were all together for that long. At points it was like Lord of the Flies, everyone ready to eat each other up, and then we’re suddenly like best friends again. And we still are best friends." "Ghost Town" was previously released as "Sad Ghost," a B-side on the single release of "In My Time." The song "Runner Ups" contains some of the same lyrics as the song "Red Apples" from the album, God Is Saying This to You.... Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-31 09:18:43