Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • My Story, The Buraku Story
    1. Doumyaku
    2. Watashi
    3. Kokyo
    4. Yurameki
    5. Gohon no yubi
    6. Kioku
    7. Kattou
    8. Chinmoku
    9. Himitsu
    10. Songen
    11. The Place

  • One Step More and You Die (2003)
    1. Where Am I
    2. Com(?)
    3. Sabbath
    4. Mopish Morning, Halation Wiper
    5. A Speeding Car
    6. Loco Tracks
    7. Halo
    8. Giant Me on the Other Side

  • Walking Cloud and Deep Red Sky, Flag Fluttered and the Sun Shined (2004)
    1. 16.12
    2. Mere Your Pathetique Light
    3. Halcyon (Beautiful Days)
    4. 2 Candles, 1 Wish
    5. Ode
    6. The Sky Remains the Same as Ever
    7. Lost Snow
    8. A Thousand Paper Cranes

  • You Are There (2006)
    1. The Flames Beyond the Cold Mountain
    2. A Heart Has Asked for the Pleasure
    3. Yearning
    4. Are You There?
    5. The Remains of the Day
    6. Moonlight

    "You Are There", is the 4th studio album by MONO. The album was released on March 15, 2006 in Japan by Human Highway Records. The album was later released in the UK on March 27, 2006, Europe on April 10 2006, and North America on April 11, 2006. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Hymn to the Immortal Wind (2009)
    1. Ashes In The Snow
    2. Burial at Sea
    3. Silent Flight, Sleeping Dawn
    4. Pure As Snow (Trails of the Winter Storm)
    5. Follow The Map
    6. The Battle To Heaven
    7. Everlasting Light

    They are also known as Mono of Japan. Read more on Last.fm.

  • For My Parents (2012)
    1. Legend
    2. Nostalgia
    3. Dream Odyssey
    4. Unseen Harbor
    5. A Quiet Place Together We Go

    "For My Parents is the new album by MONO, the Japanese quartet who -- over the course of half a dozen albums in twice as many years -- has followed their own muse, and in the process have become "one of the most distinctive bands of the 21st century." They are an instrumental rock band whose melodies have grown increasingly lyrical, with increasingly transcendent execution. There is no doubting a MONO song when you hear it, and no denying their uncanny ability to feel perfectly at home in both pristine symphony halls and dirty rock clubs. In the way that only MONO can, For My Parents obliterates that divide, showcasing a sensitivity and maturity that simultaneously acknowledges where they came from, and where they're going. The songwriting is sharper, the dynamics are subtler, and the production is stunning. For the recording, the band once again enlisted The Wordless Music Orchestra for support, and the collaboration has never sounded stronger. The unique combination of soul-stirring melodies, cinematic East-meets-West arrangements, and firm command of elusive emotional intangibles is what makes MONO so...well, so MONO." From their Facebook: "Just try to think less, and feel more. There is a variety of noise music out there and each kind generates different waves of energy. These waves of energy have the power to make people feel joy, sadness, anger, or celebration. We want to create the sound of joy, the noise of reaching through darkness and finding joy at its center. Thanks!" Takaakira 'Taka' Goto: Guitar Tamaki Kunishi: Bass, Piano, Glockenspiel Yoda: Guitar Yasunori Takada: Drums, Glockenspiel, Timpani, Tubular Bell, Gong The Holy Ground Orchestra Jeff Milarsky: Conductor Yuki Numata, Courtney Orlando, Emily Ondracek, Paati Kilroy: Violin1 Conrad Harris, Ben Russell, Caroline Shaw, Amanda Lo: Violin 2 Caleb Burhans, Nadia Sirota, Erin Wright, Jeanann Dara: Viola Clarice Jensen, Brian Snow: Cello 1 Caitlin Sullivan, Laura Metcalf: Cello 2 Logan Coale: Bass Shayna Dunkelman: Timpani Yuri Yamashita: Cymbals Read more on Last.fm.

  • The Last Dawn (2014)
    1. The Land Between Tides & Glory
    2. kanata
    3. Cyclone
    4. Elysian Castles
    5. Where We Begin
    6. The Last Dawn

  • Rays of Darkness (2014)
    1. Recoil, Ignite
    2. Surrender
    3. The Hand that Holds the Truth
    4. The Last Rays

  • Nowhere Now Here (2019)
    1. God Bless
    2. After You Comes the Flood
    3. Breathe
    4. Nowhere, Now Here
    5. Far and Further
    6. Sorrow
    7. Parting
    8. Meet Us Where the Night Ends
    9. Funeral Song
    10. Vanishing, Vanishing Maybe

    The conflict and correlation between dark and light is a universal theme with a historically rich history. Musically, perhaps no band in the 21st Century has mined that relationship more consistently or effectively than Japan’s MONO. Across 10 albums in 20 years, MONO have convincingly reflected the quietest and most chaotic parts of life through their music. Their ever-expanding instrumental palette – which began in earnest in 1999 with the traditional guitar-bass-drums rock band setup – has evolved to include as many as 30 orchestral instruments. Now, on Nowhere Now Here, the band add electronics to their repertoire – perhaps inspired by guitarist/composer Takaakira ‘Taka’ Goto’s recent collaboration with John McEntire, the beguiling Behind the Shadow Drops. Nowhere Now Here also sees MONO’s first-ever lineup change, adding new drummer Dahm Majuri Cipolla (The Phantom Family Halo) to the core trio of Goto, Tamaki, and Yoda. Tamaki also makes her vocal debut here, singing into the shadows of vintage Nico on the poetically hazy “Breathe.” The unlikely career of MONO has taken them to virtually every corner of the planet, several times over. Those corners have all left indelible marks on their music, as it drills deeper towards the sound of feeling not quite human and all too human – often at the same time. Release:January 25, 2019 Labels: Temporary Residence Ltd. (North America & Asia) Pelagic Records (UK, Europe & Oceania) Formats: CD, LP & Digital Tracks: God Bless After You Comes the Flood Stream / Film Breathe Nowhere, Now Here Far and Further Sorrow Parting Meet Us Where the Night Ends Funeral Song Vanishing, Vanishing Maybe Physical:Temporary Residence Ltd. CD - Custom slipcase LP - Opaque Purple & Super Blood Moon Colored DLP in custom slipcase Limited to 1,000 copies LP - Black DLP in custom slipcase Pelagic Records CD - Custom slipcase LP - Color In Color DLP Limited to 250 copies LP - Splatter DLP in custom slipcase Limited to 250 copies LP - Smoke DLP in custom slipcase Limited to 500 copies LP - Black DLP in custom slipcase Read more on Last.fm.

  • Pilgrimage of the Soul (2021)
    1. Riptide
    2. Imperfect Things
    3. Heaven in a Wild Flower
    4. To See a World
    5. Innocence
    6. The Auguries
    7. Hold Infinity in the Palm of Your Hand
    8. And Eternity in an Hour

  • Scarlet Holliday (2022)
    1. Scarlet Holliday
    2. First Winter