Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Brennisteinn
  2. Hrafntinna
  3. Ísjaki
  4. Yfirborð
  5. Stormur
  6. Kveikur
  7. Rafstraumur
  8. Bláþráður
  9. Var

Released: 2013

Kveikur (pronounced [ˈkvɛɪ-kʏr]) is the seventh studio album from Icelandic post-rock band Sigur Rós. It was released on June 17, 2013 internationally and June 18, 2013 in the United States through XL Recordings. It is the first album to be released through XL after the band departed EMI in 2012. It is also notably the first album by Sigur Rós not to feature keyboardist Kjartan Sveinsson, after he had left the band in 2012. Kveikur sees a new direction taken by Sigur Rós, both musically and thematically. Previously, the band's music has been synonymous with ambient music, but for the first time in the band's history, Kveikur sees the band depart from this style of music to present a darker, heavier and "more agressive" sound than any of the band's previous works. Kveikur was officially unveiled by the band and label XL Recordings on March 22, 2013. The artwork for the album, its release dates and its tracklisting, along with new dates on the Sigur Rós World Tour were publicly announced. An extended play, entitled Brennisteinn and featuring lead single "Brennisteinn" and two Kveikur cuts "Hryggjarsula" and "Ofbirta", was also released on the same day to ticket holders of North American dates on the Sigur Rós World Tour. The cover is a work by the Brazilian artist Lygia Clark. Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2019-04-28 13:49:56