Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Fake Empire
  2. Mistaken for Strangers
  3. Brainy
  4. Squalor Victoria
  5. Green Gloves
  6. Slow Show
  7. Apartment Story
  8. Start a War
  9. Guest Room
  10. Racing Like a Pro
  11. Ada
  12. Gospel

Released: 2007

Boxer is the fourth full-length studio album by Brooklyn-via-Cincinnati indie rock band The National. It was released on May 22, 2007 by Beggars Banquet Records. The album features a guest performance by Sufjan Stevens on "Ada" and "Racing Like a Pro" and backing vocals by Marla Hansen. It debuted at number 68 on the U.S. Billboard 200, selling about 9,500 copies in its first week. The song "Slow Show" contains lyrics from the band's song "29 Years," first found on their self-titled debut album. "From the first piano chords on opener "Fake Empire", the National create a late-night, empty-city-street mood, slightly menacing but mostly isolated. The 10 tracks that follow sustain and even amplify that feeling, revealing the band's range as they play close to the vest." So says Pitchfork Media's Steven Deusner, who gave the album an 8.6/10.0. The album also received 4 stars from Rolling Stone's Rob Sheffield. Songs from Boxer have made appearances on television shows such as "Chuck" "The Riches" "One Tree Hill" "Gossip Girl" and President Barack Obama's campaign video "Signs of Hope and Change" A film by Vincent Moon documenting the creation of the album, entitled "A Skin, a Night" was released on Beggar's Banquet on May 20, 2008. Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-28 08:29:48