Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One
    1. Return to Hot Chicken
    2. Moby Octopad
    3. Sugarcube
    4. Damage
    5. Deeper Into Movies
    6. Shadows
    7. Stockholm Syndrome
    8. Autumn Sweater
    9. Little Honda
    10. Green Arrow
    11. One PM Again
    12. The Lie and How We Told It
    13. Center of Gravity
    14. Spec Bebop
    15. We're an American Band
    16. My Little Corner of the World

    I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One is an album by Yo La Tengo released on Matador in 1997. It was recorded in Nashville, Tennessee and mixed in New York City. The album's sound is a blend of various genres, such as folk ("One PM Again"), rock ("Moby Octopad"), shoegazing ("Deeper Into Movies"), noise pop ("Sugarcube"), long noise jams ("Spec Bebop"), ambient ("Green Arrow"), and bossa nova ("Center of Gravity"), with a few songs showing electronic music influences ("Autumn Sweater"). The album also contains two cover songs: "Little Honda," a Beach Boys tune by Brian Wilson and Mike Love, and "My Little Corner of the World," written by Bob Hilliard and Lee Pockriss and made famous by musician Anita Bryant. I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One is among the most critically acclaimed albums by Yo La Tengo, placing 5th in the Village Voice's Pazz & Jop critics' poll for 1997. The album has continued to earn acclaim since its release, ranking at #25 on the list of the Top 100 albums of the 1990s by Pitchfork, and #78 on Spin's greatest 90 albums of the 1990s. Robert Christgau, in his review for Spin, called the first nine songs "perfect." He called out the song "Autumn Sweater" as the "very peak" of the album and described the track "Stockholm Syndrome," sung by bassist James McNew, as a "simulated Neil Young ballad." He referred to the album as one of his "favorite albums of the year, easy," alongside those by Pavement, Sleater-Kinney, and Arto Lindsay. In his review of the band's 2003 album Summer Sun, he praised I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One as Yo La Tengo's "career album." Read more on Last.fm.

  • This Stupid World
    1. Sinatra Drive Breakdown
    2. Fallout
    3. Tonight’s Episode
    4. Aselestine
    5. Until It Happens
    6. Apology Letter
    7. Brain Capers
    8. This Stupid World
    9. Miles Away

    This Stupid World, the seventeenth studio album by the American indie band Yo La Tengo, was released on February 10, 2023 via Matador. The album was announced alongside the release of lead single, “Fallout”, on November 2, 2022. The second single, “Aselestine”, was released on January 11, 2023. The third single, “Sinatra Drive Breakdown”, was released on February 7, 2023. Read more on Last.fm.

  • Painful
    1. Big Day Coming
    2. From a Motel 6
    3. Double Dare
    4. Superstar-Watcher
    5. Nowhere Near
    6. Sudden Organ
    7. A Worrying Thing
    8. I Was the Fool Beside You for Too Long
    9. The Whole of the Law
    10. Big Day Coming
    11. I Heard You Looking

  • Fakebook (1990)
    1. Can't Forget
    2. Griselda
    3. Here Comes My Baby
    4. Barnaby, Hardly Working
    5. Yellow Sarong
    6. You Tore Me Down
    7. Emulsified
    8. Speeding Motorcycle
    9. Tried So Hard
    10. The Summer
    11. Oklahoma, U.S.A.
    12. What Comes Next
    13. The One to Cry
    14. Andalucia
    15. Did I Tell You
    16. What Can I Say

  • Electr-o-pura (1995)
    1. Decora
    2. Flying Lesson (Hot Chicken #1)
    3. The Hour Grows Late
    4. Tom Courtenay
    5. False Ending
    6. Pablo and Andrea
    7. Paul Is Dead
    8. False Alarm
    9. The Ballad of Red Buckets
    10. Don't Say a Word (Hot Chicken #2)
    11. (Straight Down to the) Bitter End
    12. My Heart's Reflection
    13. Attack On Love
    14. Blue Line Swinger

  • And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside-Out (2000)
    1. Everyday
    2. Our Way to Fall
    3. Saturday
    4. Let's Save Tony Orlando's House
    5. Last Days of Disco
    6. The Crying of Lot G
    7. You Can Have It All
    8. Tears Are in Your Eyes
    9. Cherry Chapstick
    10. From Black to Blue
    11. Madeline
    12. Tired Hippo
    13. Night Falls on Hoboken

  • You Can Have It All (2000)
    1. You Can Have It All (edit)
    2. Ready-Mades
    3. You Can Have It All (Sonic Boom remix)

  • Summer Sun (2003)
    1. Beach Party Tonight
    2. Little Eyes
    3. Nothing But You and Me
    4. Season of the Shark
    5. Today Is the Day
    6. Tiny Birds
    7. How to Make a Baby Elephant Float
    8. Georgia vs. Yo La Tengo
    9. Don't Have to Be So Sad
    10. Winter A-Go-Go
    11. Moonrock Mambo
    12. Let's Be Still
    13. Take Care

    Summer Sun is the tenth full-length album by Hoboken-based indie rock band Yo La Tengo, released on April 8, 2003. It is their 5th album released on Matador. Despite the title of the album, the cover shows the band wearing winter coats. When asked about this odd juxtaposition, guitarist Ira Kaplan said: “We really need to get together with the Matador art department about that. We submitted eight rolls of film containing one shot after another of us in bathing suits. At the end of the session, the photographer requested one shot of us in our winter coats, "for his personal collection" we were assured. Imagine our dismay when the album came out". Read more on Last.fm.

  • Today is the Day (2003)
    1. Today Is the Day
    2. Styles of the Times
    3. Outsmartener
    4. Needle of Death
    5. Dr. Crash
    6. Cherry Chapstick

  • I Am Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass (2006)
    1. Pass The Hatchet, I Think I'm Goodkind
    2. Beanbag Chair
    3. I Feel Like Going Home
    4. Mr. Tough
    5. Black Flowers
    6. The Race Is On Again
    7. The Room Got Heavy
    8. Sometimes I Don't Get You
    9. Daphnia
    10. I Should Have Known Better
    11. Watch Out For Me Ronnie
    12. The Weakest Part
    13. Song For Mahila
    14. Point And Shoot
    15. The Story Of Yo La Tango

  • Fade (2012)
    1. Ohm
    2. Is That Enough
    3. Well You Better
    4. Paddle Forward
    5. Stupid Things
    6. I'll Be Around
    7. Cornelia and Jane
    8. Two Trains
    9. The Point of It
    10. Before We Run

  • Sleepless Night (2020)
    1. Blues Stay Away from Me
    2. Wasn't born to follow
    3. Roll On Babe
    4. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
    5. Bleeding
    6. Smile a Little Smile for Me