Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
05-12-2021 18-12-2023 4 2
Sessies: 0
Essentials: 0
Top100 vermeldingen: 0
Land of Talk is an indie rock band from Montreal, Quebec, Canada, formed in 2006. The band's main member consisted of Elizabeth Powell (guitar/vocals), with Joe Yarmush (bass), and Andrew Barr (drums). Land of Talk's debut EP, Applause Cheer Boo Hiss, was released in April 2006, and featured Chris McCarron on bass and Bucky Wheaton on drums. Wheaton left the band in May 2007 and was replaced by Eric Thibodeau. Thibodeau left in early 2008, and was replaced by Andrew Barr (of The Slip). McCarron left to play guitar for The Dears and was replaced by Joe Yarmush. The band released their full-length debut, Some Are Lakes, on Saddle Creek Records in September 2008. They opened for Broken Social Scene on their fall 2008 tour. On October 27th, 2009 the band released Fun and Laughter EP under Saddle Creek Records. This album was released prior to their short west coast tour that began in San Diego on October 27th and ended in Vancouver, B.C. on November 7th the same year. This showcased four songs. The band's fourth album, Cloak and Cipher, debuted August 24, 2010 on Saddle Creek Records. After touring for the album for a while, the band was completely shrouded in mystery, no trace of them could be found. Their official website was replaced but they were/are still listed on the official website of the label. It was only in 2013, when the band manager confirmed a hiatus. On April 25, 2015, Powell played her first show since 2011 at the Roots North Music Festival in Orillia, Ontario. On December 5, the band social media pages were updated for the first time in four years. Read more on Last.fm.

Powered by Last.fm

cached on: 2021-12-06 06:33:28