Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
afbeelding Miracle Fortress
10-06-2007 25-11-2007 5 1
Sessies: 0
Essentials: 0
Top100 vermeldingen: 0
Miracle Fortress is the brainchild of Graham Van Pelt, a Montreal-based multi-instrumentalist and vocalist who in this incarnation builds wall of sound songs in the tradition of Brian Wilson and Brian Eno. Originally from Stratford, Ontario, Graham is also a member of Montreal’s Think About Life (Alien8 Recordings). He began to record as Miracle Fortress after co-founding the multi-functional art space/venue/studio space Friendship Cove with local artist Jack Dylan in Montreal’s Griffintown in late 2005. A 5 song EP, Watery Grave, led to a collaboration with Secret City Records in 2006 to record a full length LP. Graham spent a larger part of the year building into the Friendship Cove studio and recording the Miracle Fortress debut, taking time out to perform as a solo act opening for bands like Love Is All, Vic Chestnut, and locals Sunset Rubdown and Islands. Five Roses was completed in January 2007 and is an ambitious and engaging record of pop songs that echo My Bloody Valentine and the Beach Boys alike. It was released in May 2007 on Secret City in North America, and later licensed to Rough Trade in the rest of the world. In addition to Graham, the live lineup of the band currently features Jessie Stein (The Luyas), Adam Waito (Adam & the Amethysts), and Nathan Ward.

cached on: 2012-05-27 22:44:10