Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation

Released: 1988   report error
Top100: 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

Daydream Nation is the fifth studio album by the American alternative rock band Sonic Youth. It was released in October 1988 by Enigma in the United States, and by Blast First in the United Kingdom. A number of publications, including Rolling Stone, Spin Magazine, and Pitchfork Media have hailed it as one of the best albums of the 1980s. As a result, it is regarded as a milestone of 1980s underground music. Although arguably the two albums immediately before it—Evol and Sister—mark Sonic Youth's first attempts at shifting from their roots in unsettling noise-rock to a somewhat more accessible combination of avant guitar experimentation and traditional rock, for many listeners, Daydream Nation is the apex where this change fully took hold. The album cover itself invokes this transition, with the 1983 Gerhard Richter photorealist painting Kerze ("Candle"). The back cover art is a similar Richter painting from 1982. Nevertheless, initial sales were poor, partly because Enigma Records, Sonic Youth's American record label, went out of business not long after the record's release. After a period of being out of print, Daydream Nation was reissued by DGC in 1993, which had signed the band largely on the strength of the crossover critical acclaim reaped by the album. In 1988, the single "Teen Age Riot", charted on Billboard Magazine's newly created Modern Rock Tracks chart at #20. In 2007, Sonic Youth undertook a series of performances of the album in its entirety. On June 12, 2007, a two-CD deluxe edition of the album was released. It contains live versions of every track on the album, plus studio recordings of some cover songs. A 4-LP vinyl version was released on July 17, 2007.

  1. Teen Age Riot
  2. Silver Rocket
  3. The Sprawl
  4. 'Cross the Breeze
  5. Eric's Trip
  6. Total Trash
  7. Hey Joni
  8. Providence
  9. Candle
  10. Trilogy: a) The Wonder
  11. Trilogy: b) Hyperstation
  12. Trilogy: z) Eliminator Jr.
  13. Eric's Trip (Demo Version)
  14. The Sprawl (Live)
  15. 'Cross The Breeze (Live)
  16. Hey Joni (Live)
  17. Silver Rocket (Live)
  18. Kissability
  19. Eric's Trip (Live)
  20. Candle (Live)
  21. The Wonder (Live)
  22. Hyperstation (Live)
  23. Eliminator Jr. (Live)
  24. Providence (Live)
  25. Teen Age Riot (Live)
  26. Rain King
  27. Totally Trashed (Live)
  28. Total Trash (Live)
  29. Within You Without You
  30. Touch Me I'm Sick
  31. Computer Age
  32. Electricity

cached on: 2012-08-16 16:38:06