Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Sleep: Murry Ostril [They Don't Sleep Anymore On The Beach], Monhelm, Broken Windows, Locks of Love Part III
  2. Storm: Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven, Gathering Storm, Cancer Towers on Holy Road Hi-way
  3. Static: Terrible Canyons of Static, Chart #3, World Police and Friendly Fires, The Buildings They Are Sleeping Now
  4. Antennas To Heaven: Moya Sings Baby-O, Edgy Swingset Acid, She Dreamt She Was A Bulldozer She Dreamt She Was Alone in An Empty Field, Deathkamp Drone, Antennas To Heaven

Released: 2000

Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven (also known as Lift Yr. Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven! and Levez Vos Skinny Fists Comme Antennas to Heaven) is the second studio album by Canadian post-rock group Godspeed You! Black Emperor, released in 2000 as a double album. The four tracks on Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven are composed of individually named internal movements. The whole album is instrumental, except for sampled voice inserts. The samples on the album are often used to send some satirical or political message. The inner panels of the vinyl edition released by Constellation contain a diagram used to illustrate the relative lengths of movements within the four tracks; each movement is drawn by Efrim Menuck,[1] as a rectangular block with its length determined by the proportion of the track it comprises. Some of the blocks are shifted slightly upwards to show an increase in intensity. The movement title and the numerical length are denoted either above or below the square. The same diagram is provided as a paper insert in the CD edition from Kranky. The inside cover drawings were taken from William Schaff's "Notes to a Friend; Silently Listening No. 2", and the cover was a redrawn version of one of the pieces on "Notes to a Friend", by John Arthur Tinholt. The flip side of the vinyl contains various images taken by the band. Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-28 10:25:36