Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. 2 + 2 = 5
  2. Sit Down. Stand Up
  3. Sail to the Moon
  4. Backdrifts
  5. Go to Sleep
  6. Where I End and You Begin
  7. We Suck Young Blood
  8. The Gloaming
  9. There There
  10. I Will
  11. A Punch Up At A Wedding
  12. Myxomatosis
  13. Scatterbrain
  14. A Wolf at the Door

Released: 2003

Hail to the Thief (subtitled The Gloaming, written as Hail to the Thief, (or, The Gloaming.) in the album booklet) is the sixth studio album by English rock band Radiohead, released on 9 June 2003 in the United Kingdom and 10 June 2003, in the United States. It debuted at number one in the UK and at number three in the United States. After two Radiohead albums that featured heavily processed vocals, less guitar, and strong influence from experimental electronica and jazz, Hail to the Thief was seen as a return to alternative rock, drawing its sound from every era of the band's existence. Preceded by the single "There There. (The Boney King of Nowhere.)", the album reached number one on the UK charts, and met with modest but worldwide commercial success, selling 994,000 units in the United States. Band members described the album as having a more "swaggering" sound and a relaxed recording process, in contrast to the tense Kid A and Amnesiac sessions. At nearly an hour in length, Hail to the Thief is the band's longest album, although many of its songs are within the three- and even two-minute range, shorter than the band's average. Thom Yorke said he was inspired by Beatles songs of that length which he thought felt much longer. This album has been released with the Copy Control protection system in some regions. The album received universal acclaim from professional critics upon release, based on a Metacritic score of 85/100, or 85%. Neil McCormick, writing in The Daily Telegraph, called it "Radiohead firing on all cylinders, a major work by major artists at the height of their powers", and the record performed typically well in magazines' end-of-year lists, especially in the United States. It was the fifth straight Radiohead release to be nominated for a Grammy for Best Alternative Album. Unswayed, the NME's James Oldham saw it as "a good rather than great record" and Alexis Petridis of The Guardian called it "neither startlingly different and fresh nor packed with the sort of anthemic songs that once made them the world's biggest band." In 2004, coproducer Nigel Godrich and engineer Darrell Thorp were honoured with Grammy Awards for their work on Hail to the Thief. Like the album itself, every song on the album has two titles. The intended titling for the album is as follows: 1. 2 + 2 = 5. (The Lukewarm.) - 3:19 2. Sit Down. Stand Up. (Snakes & Ladders.) - 4:20 3. Sail to the Moon. (Brush the Cobwebs out of the Sky.) - 4:18 4. Backdrifts. (Honeymoon Is Over.) - 5:23 5. Go to Sleep. (Little Man Being Erased.) - 3:22 6. Where I End and You Begin. (The Sky Is Falling In.) - 4:29 7. We Suck Young Blood. (Your Time Is Up.) - 4:57 8. The Gloaming. (Softly Open Our Mouths in the Cold.) - 3:32 9. There There. (The Boney King of Nowhere.) - 5:24 10. I Will. (No Man's Land.) - 1:59 11. A Punchup at a Wedding. (No no no no no no no no.) - 4:57 12. Myxomatosis. (Judge, Jury & Executioner.) - 3:53 13. Scatterbrain. (As Dead as Leaves.) - 3:22 14. A Wolf at the Door. (It Girl. Rag Doll.) - 3:21 However, due to a misprint in the album artwork, there was no period after the "5" in "2 + 2 = 5". Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-28 10:06:57